Loading Events

« All Events

Fort Collins Symphony: Solemn, Joyful and Ecstatic: Anthony Elliott, cello

February 5, 2022 @ 7:30 pm

“Slip into our mid-winter concert to resonate with Oskar Morawetz’s powerful Memorial to Martin Luther King and the quiet solemnity of Samuel Barber’s Adagio for Strings, composed in 1936 as a reflection of the changes occurring in America and Europe. Counterpoints include Pytor Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s joyful Serenade for Strings, Igor Strainvsky’s vibrant Symphonies of Wind Instruments, and Joan Tower’s ecstatic Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman.”

OSKAR MORAWETZ: Memorial to Martin Luther King
JOAN TOWER: Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman
STRAVINSKY: Symphonies of Wind Instruments
TCHAIKOVSKY: Serenade for Strings
BARBER: Adagio for Strings

This concert is also available for live-stream on February 5 or webcast replay on February 13.


February 5, 2022
7:30 pm
Event Categories:


Fort Collins Symphony
View Organizer Website

Events may change or on short notice. Check event website or links in the description to confirm status.

KGNU has no additional information about these events and is not responsible for the accuracy of submissions.